NPP flagbearership race: the contenders who have picked the nomination forms



Four individuals have obtained nomination forms to participate in the upcoming New Patriotic Party (NPP) presidential primaries. Leading the pack is Boakye Kyeremanten Agyarko, a former Energy Minister, who wasted no time in picking up the forms on May 26. Dr. Benjamin Ashittey, the spokesperson for Agyarko’s campaign team, expressed unwavering confidence and readiness for the contest. They firmly believe in Agyarko’s capabilities to contribute to the country’s development and are determined not to back down.


Notably, the campaign team of Kwabena Agyapong, a former NPP General Secretary, also collected nomination forms on his behalf for the presidential race. Similarly, Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku, an esteemed economist and a two-time NPP presidential aspirant, had his team take charge of obtaining the necessary forms. According to Kwame Obiri Nkansah, the Communications Director of Apraku’s campaign team, Dr. Apraku is a seasoned stalwart and the ideal candidate to break the “eight-year cycle.”


In addition to the aforementioned contenders, friends of Addai Nimo, the former MP for Mampong, seized the opportunity to pick up nomination forms on his behalf. George Obeng Antwi, the leader of the group, firmly believes that Mr. Nimo is the perfect individual to lead the party forward.


As for the other expected aspirants, there are several prominent figures in the mix. These include Alan John Kwadwo Kyerematen, a former Minister of Trade and Industry, and Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, a former Agric Minister. Kennedy Agyapong, a well-known figure in NPP circles, and Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia are also anticipated to submit their nomination forms. However, in the case of Vice President Bawumia, although a group called the Bawumia Fun Club reportedly collected a form on his behalf from the Dome-Kwabena Constituency, a member of his campaign team clarified that he would personally pick up the nomination forms the following week.


The NPP has officially opened nominations for the presidential primary, and candidates have nearly a month to submit their forms, with the deadline set for June 24, 2023. To streamline the process, aspirants are directed to acquire their nomination forms at the party’s headquarters in Asylum Down, Accra. The forms can be obtained from Monday to Friday, between 10:00 am and 5:00 pm.


The NPP presidential primaries calendar outlines the key dates for this electoral process. Nominations commenced on May 26, 2023, and will come to a close on June 24, 2023. Special Electoral College Elections, if necessary, will be held on August 26, 2023. The final event, the National Congress, is scheduled for November 4, 2023. These crucial milestones will shape the NPP’s future leadership and set the course for the party’s endeavors.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *